Sundance Film Awards Announced

So Sundance is officially over and we’re totally jealous of all those who got to go and see films we won’t see here in the UKfor months. Like most major film festivals Sundance also gives out a host of film awards and the winners have just been announced. The most coveted prize, The Grand Jury, went to Winter’s Bone – an adaptation of Daniel Woodrell’s novel about an Ozark Mountain girl who is hunting down her drug-dealing father. The Grand Jury Prize for documentary went to Restrepo – a film in which the filmmakers spent a year dug in with the Second Platoon in Afghanistan’s deadliest valley. Mark Ruffalos debut film as a director, Sympathy for Delicious, also won the Special Dramatic Jury Prize. Read the full list of winners below

Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic: Winter’s Bone,
Grand Jury Prize, Documentary: Restrepo,
World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic: Animal Kingdom
World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary: The Red Chapel (Det Røde Kapel)
Dramatic Audience Award: happythankyoumoreplease
Documentary Audience Award: Waiting for Superman
World Cinema Dramatic Audience Award: Contracorriente (Undertow)
World Cinema Documentary Audience Award: Wasteland
The Best of NEXT: Homewrecker
Directing Award, Dramatic: 3 Backyards
Directing Award, Documentary: Smash His Camera
World Cinema Directing Award, Dramatic: Southern District
World Cinema Directing Award, Documentary: Space Tourists
Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award: Winter’s Bone
World Cinema Screenwriting Award: Southern District
Documentary Editing Award: Joan Rivers—A Piece Of Work World Cinema Documentary Editing Award: A Film Unfinished
Excellence in Cinematography Award, Dramatic: Obselidia
Excellence in Cinematography Award, Documentary:
The Oath Cinematographers: Kirsten Johnson and Laura Poitras
World Cinema Cinematography Award, Dramatic: The Man Next Door (El Hombre de al Lado)
World Cinema Cinematography Award, Documentary: His & Hers
Special Jury Prize: Dramatic: Sympathy for Delicious
Special Jury Prize: Documentary: Gasland
World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Documentary Enemies of the People

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.