Orange Bafta Rising Star nominees announced


The ‘Orange Rising Star’ is an award that chooses 5 nominees who are actors and actresses who they believe are ‘stars in the making’. Despite the nominees being chosen by the BAFTA juries as normal its the only BAFTA Award that is actually voted for but the British public – via the Orange website or even by texting in your favourite nominee. Noel Clarke (Adulthood writer and director) was last year’s winner but previous winners have included James McAvoy, Eva Green and Shia Labeouf.

The Orange Rising Star Award was created in honour of the late Mary Selway, the highly-respected BAFTA-winning casting director who died in 2004. Although not a well known figure outside the industry she worked on huge films such as Return of the Jedi, Withnail & I Aliens and Love Actually.

The 2010 nominees were announced at a press conference this morning and are

Jesse Eisenberg
Eisenberg rose to fame in 2002 when he starred in the acclaimed independent film Roger Dodger and is well known for his latest comedy roles in Adventureland and Zombieland.

Nicholas Hoult
Nicholas Hoult is best known for his role as Marcus Brewer in the 2002 film, About a Boy, and in Skins as cold, calculating, popular main character Tony Stonem.

Carey Mulligan
Starting off her career in television, home-grown talent Carey is now a highly acclaimed film star winning awards for her breakthrough role as Jenny in An Education.

Tahar Rahim
Born and raised in Belfort, north east France, Tahar has caught critics’ attention through his breakthrough role as Malik El Djebena, in the 2009 award-winning French movie Un Prophete (A Prophet).

Kristen Stewart
Kristen Stewart has been catapulted to fame by her starring role as Bella in the Twilight Saga. She has been nominated for numerous Young Artist awards for her roles in films such as Panic Room, Cold Creek Manor and Into the Wild.

You can vote for your Orange Rising Star online at or via text

The online page isnt quite up yet but the text numbers are
Jesse Eisenberg – text EISENBERG to 82058
Nicholas Hoult – text HOULT to 82058
Carey Mulligan – text MULLIGAN to 82058
Tahar Rahim – text RAHIM to 82058
Kristen Stewarttext STEWART to 82058
Texts cost 25p plus a standard network charge. Network charges may vary.

The winner will be announced at the Orange British Academy Film Awards on Sunday 21 February 2010.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.