2010 Oscar Nominations Announced

Well its the news we’ve all been waiting for – the 2010 Oscar Nominations are out! The 82nd Academy Awards ceremony will take place in Los Angeles on March 7, 2010 and the Oscar nominees were announced this morning at the Samuel Goldwyn Theatre. The main new feature for this year is that the Best Picture category this year features 5 nominations rather than the normal 10. Avatar and the Hurt Locker both got 9 oscar nominations each so the batle of the exes is on. The main surprises were the nomination for In the Loop for adapted screenplay and the fact that transformers – which yesterday came top with 7 nominations in the razzies, the award given to the years worst films managed to sneak in a nomination for sound mixing! Full list below!

We’ve also decided to theme this weeks poll around the Oscars – vote on the left hand side for who you think should win the best film award!

Best Picture
The Blind Side
District 9
An Education
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
A Serious Man
Up in the Air

Best Director
Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker
Quenitn Tarantino – Inglourious Basterds
Jason Reitman – Up in the Air
James Cameron – Avatar
Lee Daniels – Precious

Best Actor
Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart
George Clooney – Up in the Air
Colin Firth – A Single Man
Morgan Freeman – Invictus
Jeremy Renner – The Hurt Locket

Best Actress
Carey Mulligan – An Education
Meryl Streep – Julie & Julia
Gabby Sidibe – Precious
Helen Mirren – The Last Station
Sandra Bullock – The Blind side

Best Supporting Actor
Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds
Stanley Tucci – The Lovely Bones
Matt Damon – Invictus
Woody Harrelson – The Messengers
Christopher Plummer – The Last Station

Best Supporting Actress
Mo’Nique – Precious
Anna Kendrick – Up in the Air
Penelope Cruz – Nine
Vera Farmiga – Up in the Air
Maggie Gylenhaal – Crazy Heart

Best Original Screenplay
Ethan Coen, Joel Coen – A Serious Man
Mark Boal – The Hurt Locker
Quentin Tarantino – Inglourious Basterds
Pete Docter – Up
Alessandro Camon and Oren Moverman – The Messenger

Best Adapted Screenplay
Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell – District 9
Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin and Tony Roche – In the Loop
Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner – Up in the Air
Nick Hornby – An Education
Geoffrey Fletcher – Precious

Best Animated Feature
The Secret of Kells
Fantastic Mr. Fox
Princess and the Frog

Best Foreign Language Film
The White Ribbon
Un Prohpet
The Secret of Her Eyes
The Milk of Sorrow

Art Direction
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus
Sherlock Holmes
The Young Victoria

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
The White Ribbon

Costume Design
Bright Star
Coco Before Chanel
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus
The Young Victoria

Documentary Feature
Burma VJ
The Cove
Food, Inc.
Which Way Home

Documentary Short
China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province
The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner
The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant
Music by Prudence
Rabbit à la Berlin

Film Editing

District 9
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire

Il Divo
Star Trek
The Young Victoria

Music (Original Score)
Fantastic Mr. Fox
The Hurt Locker
Sherlock Holmes

Music (Original Song)
The Princess and the Frog – Almost There
The Princess and the Frog – Down in New Orleans
Paris 36 – Loin de Paname
Nine – Take It All
Crazy Heart -The Weary Kind

Short Film (Animated)
French Roast
Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty
The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte)
A Matter of Loaf and Death

Short Film (Live Action)
The Door
Instead of Abracadabra
Miracle Fish
The New Tenants

Sound Editing
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
Star Trek

Sound Mixing
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
Star Trek
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

Visual Effects
District 9
Star Trek

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.